Go To Search

Environmental Leadership Award
The Town of Snowmass Village's Environmental Leadership Award celebrates local leadership and commitment to environmental stewardship through policies, programs, or actions focused on energy conservation, water quality and/or conservation, and waste reduction and recycling.

2018 Nomination Process:
  • Nomination Deadline: Monday, April 23, 2018 at 12 noon MST
  • First Review of Nominations: Tuesday, May 1, 2018
  • Winner(s) Selected: June, 2018
  • Winner(s) Announced & Award Presentation: June / July 2018

Projects will be evaluated as much as possible on the quantifiable results that positively affect the environment. Nominees should be organizations or businesses located and/or operating in the Town, or impacting the Town and regional environment. Other nominations outside of these criteria are welcomed and will be considered.

In selecting awardees, the Board will consider the following criteria:

  • Success: Can the impact(s) of the project/action be measured against a stated goal?
  • Cost effectiveness: Does the project/action achieve much for little expense?
  • Applicability: Are the action's effects easily reproduced, or do they lend themselves to widespread use? Are they likely to encourage other actions to benefit the Town environment?
  • Leadership: Does the project/action demonstrate vision, foresight, or persistence?
  • Visibility: Is the project/action highly visible? How has the community been made aware of it?
  • Impact on the Town of Snowmass Village: Does the project/action enhance the Town’s public image?
  • Type of Positive Benefit: What positive benefits are created as a result of the project/action? These might include preservation of a valuable resource or restoration/enlargement of one; removal/reduction of negative conditions; written and/or graphic material that will educate and inspire Town residents

  • The deadline for nominations is 12 noon MST Monday, April 23, 2018.
  • The EAB will select the award recipients at their meeting in June.
  • Awards will be presented to the recipients at a July Town Council meeting, and/or at the AREDAY summit.

Contact Environmental Advisory Board staff liaison Travis Elliott

Past Award Recipients:

  • Bill Striegler, Snowmass Timbers Club
EAB 2017 Award
EAB member Carol Gaudin, Bill Striegler, and EAB Chair Debbie Shore (left to right) at the AREDAY reception.

  • Alpine Bank, Snowmass
  • Elizabeth de Wetter, community member and AHS student
Alpine Bank Award

  • Snowmass Water and Sanitation District
  • Snowmass Hospitality: Base Village Master Association
  • Snowmass Hospitality: Capitol Peak Lodge Home Owner's Association

Award Presentation

Snowmass Hospitality

  • Eco Steam Wash, Snowmass Conoco